Juice Cleanse + Elimination Diet

If you’re into health and fitness you are probably familiar with ‘juicing’. I recently finished a 3-day Pressed Juicery cleanse followed by an elimination diet and received a lot of questions so I would like to provide some feedback.

juicing 2.jpg

Why Do A Cleanse?

There are a number of reasons why someone might choose to start a juice cleanse. There are also varied durations for how long you would like to do a cleanse. My reasoning? I was feeling boated every day, though I was eating the same healthy foods (fish, white meat, fruit, vegetables, etc.). I felt like I was retaining water, though my hydration and salt consumption levels stayed the same. My energy levels were low and I did not feel good on the inside. I felt uncomfortable in my skin and like my midsection was going to burst.

Note: Feeling bloated is not the same thing and feeling full or gaining weight. It is an abnormal swelling or increase in diameter of the abdominal area.

I decided I would like to do a combination of an elimination diet and a juice cleanse. The elimination diet is a short-term eating plan that eliminates certain foods that might be causing allergies or other digestive reactions – then reintroduces the foods one at a time in order to determine which foods are, and are not, well-tolerated.

Elimination-Diet_V4.jpg

Step One: The Cleanse

I began with a 3-day Pressed Juicery cleanse. I ate an apple on the first day (to help eliminate wastes that were backed up), I ate an avocado on day two (since I did not take any days off work during my cleanse and needed energy), and ate two hard-boiled eggs on day three (to test my body’s reaction to eggs with nothing else in my system).

The beauty of doing juice cleanse is you can make it what you want! Based on the outcome I was trying to achieve – regular elimination of wastes, decrease bloating, and discover foods I have developed an intolerance to – this is how I wanted to carry out my cleanse. I am happy to report I achieved the outcome I was hoping for. I noticed a significant decrease in bloating immediately, affirmed hard-boiled eggs were not the issue for me bloating wise, and had SO much more energy.

Step Two: The Elimination Diet

After I complete my 3-day cleanse I began a modified elimination diet. I am lactose intolerant so I was able to skip Phase 1 since I already know what comes of consuming dairy – NOTHING GOOD.

I moved through Phases 2-4 and took notes of what caused and did not cause bloating.

If you deal with boating on a regular basis you might consider taking an enzyme to help with digestion. I take Enzymedica Digest Gold. It is best taken WITH food vs. taking it before or after you eat. I would highly recommend it.

Step Three: Look And Feel Better

After completing my juice cleanse and modified elimination diet I can definitely say I feel like I am back to my normal self. Energy restored, feeling good in my skin and flat in my abdomen.

If you have questions about stubborn bloating, juicing, the elimination diet or anything else please do not hesitate to ask! Email: BodiesByKate@gmail.com

Author: fitbodiesbykate

FitBodiesByKate.com Email: BodiesByKate@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

